How I See Me

The African story has been told from the eyes of an observer for a long time now. But there is need for Africans to tell their own story and observations. This will counter the negativity created around Africa by foreign observers masquerading as “experts on Africa”. This blog post is an entry in the Afrobloggers #WinterABC2023 storytelling challenge.


Hi,

I see you use my old picture to talk about my future. A file picture of malnourished children. A picture of my troubled past with child soldiers. A picture meant to trigger donations to your “charity”.

You fail to show my happy present. It is as if you are ashamed and disappointed for not finding images that fit songs sang by your mass choir online and on TV.

Here’s a picture for you. I hope you see my life today. The lack, the achievements, the joy. Most importantly, the hope.

I hope you tell of how bright my future is and what I’m doing to get the things I don’t have yet. I hope you tell of a new child soldier. A happy, well nourished child soldier being deployed to the future with education and skills as weapons.

It makes no difference whether you tell my version or your version of my story. I am the hero in both versions. I still feed you with my past. Images of war and malnutrition are profitable to you. Just don’t be selfish and sponsor problems in my house.

My version shows how I have risen from a difficult past. It shows how i’m rewriting my story and my future. My future is promising and it scares you. Weigh your fears against your attitude towards me and my household. There’s a chair around my table for anyone from anywhere, who is prepared to treat me as an equal.

I am Africa. A former troubled spot. Now a hero of my present and future.

That is how I see me.


Support my blog with a cup of Coffee

Buy Me A Coffee

6 thoughts on “How I See Me

  1. Its sad AFRICA has been relegated to a failed project by our own selves for greed and self gratifications by some opportunists who solicit for handouts from the west and beyond.
    Sadly, this trend also exists within the precincts of the Church – a place perceived to be sacred. This has left a few clergymen wealthy at the expense of others.
    The truth must be told that AFRICA a rich continent hence we may not need pity as we can do it to stardom with a paradigm shift in mind set and work culture.
    In addition, Its imperative to tell the world that given a level headed, meritocratic and pragmatic Leadership, AFRICA is another greater show piece and equal to recon with on the world podium.
    Thank you !

    Like

Leave a comment